Pic ‘o the Day

My son and I were riding down to the local pool when we rode by a downtown restaurant that I assume must have been a bicycle shop years ago.  I’ve eaten here and they have good tacos and margaritas.  The bike with the basket has been parked there for a while and I assume it’s an employee’s.  I see it on the rack during my morning commutes.  The combination of the sign and the bikes made we wonder about the bikes’ owners.  I imagined they were enjoying themselves inside with good drink, good food, and good friends.  And afterwards they probably had a relaxing ride back home to finish off the night.  Here is the scene for your viewing pleasure…

Bikes at the local taqueria

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by clair quilty on September 30, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Easily my favorite bar in Mobile. On the topic of bicycle shops, what recommendations do you have for bicycle shops-not just for buying bikes, but for repairs, parts and so forth? Also, as someone who has been bicycle commuting to work now pretty regularly for more than two years, I was happy to find out about your blog and group.

    Reply

  2. Clair, thanks for posting. I do not have a favorite bike shop yet as I haven’t had to use one really since I’ve only been in Mobile for less than a year. But I’d have to say that since I can ride my bike conveniently to Infinity Bicycles that would be my first choice. For parts I like EBay. Also, I’m looking to get some contributors to the blog and seeing as you are a bike commuter you would be a perfect fit. Let me know if you’d like to post now and then.

    Reply

  3. Posted by lynnety on October 7, 2010 at 7:18 am

    Clair, on this side of the bay my recommendations are Spoke & Trail on Old Shell and Cadence 120 also on Old Shell. On the east side, Eastern Shore Cycles has a great mechanic. Steer clear of the Fairhope Bicycle Shop. They may improve in the future, but I’ve heard nothing good about them and my own experience was quite dismal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

