Freedom and Self-Reliance

“Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives women a feeling of freedom and self-reliance.”

Susan B. Anthony

“I have always loved riding bicycles, especially for the feeling of freedom and self-sufficiency that they give.”

Sheldon Brown

Those two quotes nail it for me. Besides being an insane amount of fun, bicycles can keep you feeling free and in control of your own transportation.

My bicycle frees me from:

  • gasoline prices
  • car payments
  • bus schedules
  • the gym
  • automobile repair bills
  • parking hassles
  • traffic
  • guilt (when I eat a donut)

I’m no master bicycle mechanic, but I can do many repairs and most maintenance by myself with very simple tools. Flat tire? I can patch it and be back on the road in a jiffy. My bicycle tools and patch kit take up less space than my makeup bag. My bikes have never failed to start. Using a bicycle is one of those small changes that can make a profound difference in your life.

One response to this post.

  1. Awesome post! Totally agree about the liberating feeling bikes give. It’s also a mood enhancer and a gateway drug to a healthier lifestyle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

