Wald Folding Grocery Baskets

I’ve been promising Nik this review for a month now. What can I say? I’ve been too busy riding.

I tried using a large messenger bag for grocery shopping. It was possible but not much fun. So I ordered the Wald folding baskets. Here are the baskets open:

Wald folding baskets, rear

The baskets folded:

One open, one folded:

I have fresh eggs from the farmer’s market in the open basket:

On the way to the market, baskets folded:

The baskets are very sturdy and very well-made. The mounting hardware that comes with them is absolute crap. Do yourself a favor and buy some p-clamps and locking nuts for a couple of dollars to mount them. I mounted mine with two p-clamps to the rack rails, and used zip ties to stabilize them. You will probably want to mount them a couple of inches back on the rack. If you don’t your heels may hit them when you are pedaling. And for the sake of mentioning it: you do need some sort of rack to mount these to. I’m using a Topeak Super Tourist on this bicycle.

The baskets fold down to about an inch thick and do not rattle. Sometimes there is a little rattling when they are open, but it is not annoying. Once you get the hang of opening and closing them it’s a snap. And they hold a lot of weight.

The down side is the weight. Two of them will add about five pounds to your bike. That may not sound like much, but eventually it becomes wearying. I have removed them for the time being and put a medium Wald basket on the porteur rack on my other bike. I just make do with one-bag shopping trips for now. I have a new bicycle on the way and I have other plans for hauling the shopping.

Overall, these are a great deal and highly recommended. They will wind up living on one of my bicycles, perhaps my Raleigh Sports.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Great product review Lynne! This reminds me that my wife and I are intending to order ourselves front racks to carry stuff on our bikes. We have rear racks but when the child seats are on the rear panniers wouldn’t be usable. I think we’ll go for porteur style front racks and maybe a half milk crate to hold things. Looking forward to seeing your new bike.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lynnety on November 23, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      Actually, I JUST got that Wald front basket today. I would recommend that over a milk crate. They are cheap, too. Just got back from Winn Dixie, and the Wald basket + cargo net held my groceries nicely.

      Reply

  2. Those rear pannier baskets look so tough and utilitarian, makes me like them a lot. I can see how 5 pounds would add up after a while, though, making canvas panniers a little more attractive. The main draw of the metal ones in Chicago is that they are less likely to get stolen if left on the bike. I can never leave canvas panniers on my bike locked on the sidewalk b/c everything not bolted down gets stolen.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lynnety on November 24, 2010 at 8:05 am

      I have an idea for possibly mounting them using small carabiners and the flat binder straps on the Paula. I’m going to try it when the bicycle gets here. It may be the quick-release solution that keeps me from using a “permanently” (zip-tie) mounted Wald large basket.

      I tried the Wald medium basket on my other bicycle last night and combined with a cargo net, it ruled for carrying home a bag of groceries. I tend to tell myself that it’s better to do a grocery run every night anyway. Any excuse for more bike rides!

      Reply

      • You need a Bob trailer for large grocery runs. The trailer can be easily removed when you don’t need it. I’ve got a Bob if you ever want to try one out. Thought we could use it for a potential picnic ride one day!

        Reply

        • Posted by Lynnety on November 24, 2010 at 8:37 am

          I’ll definitely try it one day. But I’ve never gotten accustomed to large grocery runs. Buying what I will cook and eat today and tomorrow are firmly established habits from my youth in Seattle.

          Reply

    • Dottie, interesting comment about the likelihood of canvas panniers getting stolen. I was thinking of getting canvas panniers and will now take the theft issue into consideration. The bike market down here is not that sophisticated and so getting bike parts and accessories stolen is not as much an issue as it is in cities where more people use bikes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

