Paula at Winn Dixie

Here she is, patiently waiting for me to finish the shopping.

With a bag of groceries:

I’ve had this bicycle since Monday. It makes me feel like a kid in a 50s bicycle ad, zipping around the corner. She went on her first group ride last night and turned quite a few heads. The Abus rear wheel lock that I added stopped one of my friends from taking off with it!

I’m really not sold on the binder straps. They just don’t seem nearly as useful as a basket and cargo net.

I have a Minnehaha trunk bag on the way that I will try (although I think it is destined for my 70s Raleigh Sports).

6 responses to this post.

  1. That is an absolutely gorgeous bike!Love the color and the balloon tires (or at least they look like balloon tires). How are you liking those internal hubs and drum brakes? I have them on my bike and the stopping power is amazing. Are you referring to the bungee straps on your rear rack as ‘binder straps’? I don’t know about other folks, but I find those useful. I can load up a grocery basket/pannier full of stuff and then strap a big multi-pack of toilet paper to the rack and ride on home. That’s one use that recently comes to mind. I like it along with a front rack.

    Reply

  2. One more comment – I really really suggest you get a better lock than the cable lock I see here in the picture. You may not live in Chicago, but that’s a nice a bike and that lock is not sufficient. Rule of thumb is to spend at least 10% to %20 of the value of your bike on the lock(s) for your bike. In Chicago, if you value your bike whatever it’s cost, you shouldn’t spend less than $80-$100 on a serious U-Lock plus cable combination.

    And if you do have another lock that just wasn’t in the picture, please ignore my comments. 😉

    Reply

    • Posted by Lynnety on December 7, 2010 at 11:40 am

      I’ve held off on the lock for a long time, not because I don’t know it’s a wise purchase but because I just can’t decide! U lock or chain? The chains are more versatile but they are also heavy. I went with the chain. Unpredictable bike parking in this area means you have to improvise sometimes.

      I do have a chain that I use in addition to the cable you see. But I made it myself and it only LOOKS imposing.

      A lot of people here don’t even lock bikes. But, yeah, I hear you. No way was I planning to depend on my crappy locks with this bike.

      Reply

  3. The heavy-duty U-Locks and the heavy-duty chains are almost equally as good at protecting your bike. The key to a good chain lock is not only the big ole chain, but the quality of the lock itself. If the chain is super-tough but the lock is crap, then someone can just break the lock. I have a big U-Lock on my mountain bike and I went with a hardcore chain on my Dutch bike. Here’s some pictures and a description from my blog. There’s also a link within that post to an overall survey I did on bike locks and how to secure your bike.

    http://dingdingletsride.com/2010/10/07/a-new-bike-lock-for-my-omafiets/

    I feel your pain – my chain lock weighs 5 pounds – literally! But because my Oma is a step-through w/o a top bar, I gain a little more versatility in how/what I can lock to as you mention above, versus if I were to use a U-lock.

    Reply

  4. […] Paula at Winn Dixie « Southern SpokesPaula at Winn Dixie. Posted December 3, 2010 by Lynnety in Bicycles, Shopping. … I have them on my bike and the stopping power is amazing. … […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by meowcat on July 21, 2012 at 6:54 am

    Does the rear wheel lock come standard with the Paula?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

