Bike commuting to the office

 

Bike commuting in office clothes

So I have been commuting into the office for the past 5 months now on my bike.  I have to say that it has been great, my commute is one of the best parts of the day now and I look forward to the ride in and out of work.  I work in an office environment that requires business casual dress.  The picture above shows what I would typically wear in to work (this picture was taken this morning).  On the Gulf Coast, winter bike commuting is great because you don’t have to worry about sweating and the weather is mild.  Note I have on a dress shirt and slacks and I’m cycling in my usual office shoes.  No special clothing is necessary!  I’ve got a  Timbuk2 bag on for hauling my lunch, wallet, cellphone, etc.  The upright positioning of the Dutch style bike is super comfortable for short trips at a casual pace.  Wonderful!

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lynnety on December 22, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I agree, my commute has gone from the worst to the best part of my day. I usually look for an excuse to take a longer route home.

    When I decided to commute on a bicycle in July, I did not know that you could ride in “regular” clothes. Funny that we all DID that as kids and think it’s impossible now! I resigned myself to give up wearing skirts and dresses, or to change into them at work. What a difference a few months can make.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

