Cathedral Square Market, 7-9-11

I thought I would beat the heat by heading out at 8:00 a.m.   Gonna tell ya, folks, no matter what time you get up during the summer months in Mobile, Alabama you just aren’t going to beat the heat!  Actually, it’s more of a humidity factor.  Nevertheless, headed down my usual route…from my house on Demouy, up Conti (following the “bike route”), through the Monterey area, across Catherine and Anne, Broad and down Dauphin.  Traffic was light.  Got to the Square, chained by bike, and strolled around.

The crowd was light, I guess it was fairly early for most Mobilians.  One advantage of getting to The Cathedral Square Market early is you get the choicest of the choice.  My FAV seafood vendor, J & J Seafood, usually runs out of oysters first, and then folks start snapping up the lump crabmeat.  Jerome, the owner, knows I visit him first, then stroll around, so he packs my goodies on ice and sticks them back in the cooler for me to pick up after my shopping.  Picked up by goat cheese, and then bought “gourmet” pickle slices from a new vendor.  Always good to support new businesses!  Ben and I will be feasting tonight.

Anyway, sorry I missed the C & S ride this morning, but plan to do it tomorrow with the Sunday Morning Breakfast Ride.  I did my first one last week…and it was definitely d0-able, even on my ancient Schwinn.  Told Ben at least he should do the Sunday Stroll tomorrow afternoon.  We’ll see.

Later folks, I’m headed down to Fowl River where I will pop a cold one, and plop into some sort of inflatable, and let the past week float away.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matthew m mckenzie on July 9, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Don’t try to beat the heat. Just accept it. We’ll see you in the morning…heat, humidity, and all. I LOVE this weather.

    Reply

    • Hey, as long as I don’t have to dress up, wear make-up, have plenty of H2O, I’m good with the heat! Especially when there’s a nice cold shower to step into after a bike trip!

      Reply

  2. Sounds like a great morning. And you are right, the heat cannot be beat in the summer in Mobile. Gourmet pickles? I’ll have to find these on my next visit to the Market.

    Reply

  3. Great post Debbie, and yes, you DID make it out to the Breakfast ride Sunday morning. Now we’ve gotta work on that husband o’ yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

