Frugality

So I’ve been thinking of ways to be frugal lately.  Part of it has to do with the general bad economy but another part of it is simply just a recent interest in finding ways to save money or be efficient.  Commuting on my bike into work each day was a start, finishing leftovers and cleaning out the fridge before stuff goes bad is another.  Well just the other day I noticed my sandals were wearing through at the heel.  The sole was gone in small areas and the bed of the shoe was exposed.  “Damn, I don’t want to pay another $90 for a pair of sandals”, I thought.  They are Chaco brand and very comfortable; I’ve had them for 5 years and they get worn a lot.  When I was young my father would take his shoes into a cobbler to get refinished or have them resoled.  Generally I have not followed suit; I’ll simply buy new shoes when they get ratty or the sole goes.  But this time around I decided to investigate getting these shoes repaired.  I ride by the Dauphine Shoeteria on Conti in downtown very often, so I decided to stop by and give the local shoe repair shop a try.

Dauphine Shoeteria is conveniently located in downtown Mobile.

So I went in and asked the owner Brand how much it would cost to repair the heel.  Since the front two-thirds of the sole were in good shape he suggested he simply repair the back third heel section.  “Ok, how much?”, I asked.  “Eleven bucks”, he said.  Wow!  That’s it to get another couple of years of use out of some great shoes.  Now that is frugal!  So now I am going to ride back and take him some of my old work shoes that I was simply going to replace.  Why buy new?  So maybe in this new economy we should all start bragging about frugal deals or creative money-saving ideas they have.  Next up for me is looking into a thrift store for “new to me” jeans.  What are your frugal ideas?

The back heel was replaced with a Vibram sole on both sandals.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rudy smith on July 15, 2011 at 5:28 am

    one way to learn about “frugal” is to study one’s garbage – americans produce far more garbage than other cultures. In you garbage you will be able to identify where you are over consuming.

    Reply

  2. Loved your post about the shoe repair shop downtown. I’ve used it on a couple of occasions too. I was thinking about what you said, about frugality. One of my first thoughts was I knew so many people who were just plain ol’ cheap, but called themselves frugal. Then there are folks like us, not cheap, but mindful of simplifying life, using less, consuming less, and find the quality of life getting better because of it!

    Reply

  3. Hey Debbie, very good points you made. Rudy, that’s a good idea to check out one’s garbage. Did you know 50% of all food is wasted in the US. Crazy!

    Reply

  4. Frugal does not equal cheap!

    One of my main criteria for purchasing most products is how durable is it and can it be repaired if necessary. Unfortunately getting parts to repair most products is nearly impossible.

    Planned obsolescence contributes greatly to the trash stream along with cheaply made products that are only going to last you a year or two, but that is how manufacturer’s make their money.

    I frequent thrift stores for clothing items, I repair clothes and shoes as well as anything else I can. I also look for and purchase older more durable products. Amazing how well made somethings were 40-50 years ago compared to today’s counterpart products.

    Aaron

    Reply

Leave a Reply

